I solemnly swear that I am up to no good….

The question for day two in the Harry Potter Challenge is
What is your favourite movie?
Hmm..a slightly tough question but definitely easier than the first one! I say tough because even though I have a few complaints about some of the movies, there is something I liked in each of them.
So my answer for this question is (if you’ve not already guessed it from the title) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban.
image

There are a number of reasons why I like this film. It starts getting a little darker from here (if dementors aren’t proof enough of that). In the first two films Harry and Co. are still young kids coping with school, even though Harry’s been handling much more than school right from his first year.
There are quite a few interesting things in the third movie (and book ofcourse). There’s the Knight Bus, Dementors, Remus Lupin, Hogsmeade, the Marauder’s Map, the prophecy by Trelawney, Time-turners, Animagi and ofcourse Sirius Black.
It is a little difficult for me to write about only the movie, but I’ll try. I think this part is a turning point in the series. Harry understands the truth about his parent’s death and he also gets acquainted with his godfather, the only person he can consider family (or atleast as close as it can get). With the truths he learns in this part his fight against Voldemort becomes more pronounced. Until now, he knows Voldemort as the wizard who killed his parents but with his introduction to Lupin, Sirius and Pettigrew he realizes that Voldemort and his influence on this world is much larger than that. He (and we too) learn very valuable lessons, especially about friendship and loyalty, in the course of this part.
This is one of the few movies which I have watched countless number of times and yet never been tired of. I love the part with the Time-turner, the first time we see a Patronus, Hermione punching Draco, the part in the Shrieking Shack, well honestly, just the entire movie.
Also I think the first three movies are closer to the books than the next five are, probably because the books are comparatively shorter. So we can actually see most of what we have read in the books. The later movies don’t really do that.
So there’s my answer for today. Feel free to post about your favourite HP movie in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

