Reading Woes

I never thought that I would be the kind of person to write anything about reading woes. And honestly its not really the woes of reading but the single woe of not knowing what to read.
I have been reading since I was first taught how to. And that was a long time ago (even though I am not quite that old!) I always have something to read, until now that is. I haven’t read a single book in the past month! People might ask what the big deal is, but only those of you who love reading as much as I do will understand.
I would pride myself on always having something to read, sometimes 2-3 books at a time. I mean there are so many books in the world! One lifetime is not enough to read everything I want to.
Even right now, while I am complaining about how I haven’t read much, I have a list of books to be read. Some of which I own or, at the very least, are accessible to me. Then why am I not reading something??? Is there such a thing as reader’s block (like a writer’s block, you know), when you have read so much that your brain just can’t take it anymore? I hope that’s not the case. If I don’t read, what do I do?
Okay, let’s not panic here. Always remember The Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy in times like these…Don’t Panic. I am sure there’s an explanation. There always is. Maybe I am not reading the right kind of book? I have a lot of options and I just can’t decide what I want to read right now. That’s exactly what this is. Plus, I really want to read the third book in the Song of Ice and Fire series, but my uncle is still reading it so I can’t borrow that (I am very glad, by the way, to have an uncle who reads just as much as I do and who has many awesome books I can borrow!).
So, two questions for you guys:
Have you ever experienced this reader’s block (as I call it)? And What would you suggest I do, any good book recommendations to get me out of this horrible situation?

Leave a Reply

