January Challenge: Lipstick Jungle

I am done with the book for January, which is Lipstick Jungle by Candace Bushnell.
It was quite an interesting book actually and thank you Ravenclawsam for recommending it!
I won’t review the novel exactly but I will write about what I liked and what I didn’t.
Things I liked:
It is very well written and it doesn’t get boring anywhere. I liked the way the author has described the world that her characters inhabit, a world which is very different from my world, for one.
I also like the choice of characters. There are so many books which tell stories of men and women who conquer all odds to fulfill their dreams. But this book talks about what happens after you get there. Or at least that is how I perceived it. Nico, Victory and Wendy are three extremely successful women. They have worked hard to get where they are and the novel is the story of what it takes to maintain that kind of success. And, of course, it is anything but easy.
The novel also deals with the issue of stereotypical roles of men and women but it does succeed in, sort of, subverting them. Especially in the case of Wendy and Shane.
Among the three protagonists my favourite would be Victory. She is a very strong character because she knows what she wants and knows how to get it too. But she doesn’t compromise on her beliefs in the process. Mid-way in the novel she does face this dilemma of doing what is right or doing what will sell. And, frankly, I was a little apprehensive about what her decision would be. But it becomes unnecessary by the end of it. She knows what it takes to be successful but she doesn’t lose herself in the end. So that’s good πŸ™‚
Things I didn’t like:
There aren’t many of these. I didn’t really like any of the male characters.
Shane, because he is one of those ‘typical’ male characters who do not know how to cope with their wives’ success. Lynn, because he comes across as too patronizing. Victor, because he is just simply ruthless. I don’t know if that’s always a bad thing in business but I don’t see how anybody could act like he does.
Seymour and Selden are a little better than the others I guess.
The reason why I say this-that I don’t like any of the male characters-is because I think it’s a little bit unfair to them. I mean, all men aren’t like this-insecure or patronizing or ruthless even. For me at least there appears to be a clear distinction between the two sexes somehow and that’s not really the truth. Just like its completely wrong to stereotype women, it is completely wrong to stereotype men too.
But all in all I enjoyed reading the book and I would definitely recommend it too. I haven’t given too many details here because I don’t want to give any spoilers.
I have realized, in the process of writing this post, that I have started ‘analyzing’ books. That’s not necessarily bad but this is what you can expect for the remaining books too I guess. I hope this helps those of you who are planning on reading the novel πŸ™‚
Oh and do read Mia’s review of the book here.
Until the next post….

5 thoughts on “January Challenge: Lipstick Jungle

  1. Nice post!
    I realized the same actually, about learning to read critically lately. I’m not sure that’s a good thing (well it’s supposed to be, but personally I liked simply reading books and feeling good about them) but well, I guess it’ll help write these posts, if nothing else! πŸ˜›

    • Thanks!
      Yes that’s exactly what I thought too, that maybe I am not reading only for fun anymore. But reading’s always fun I guess (even if I am analyzing). And yes it’ll definitely help in writing these posts πŸ™‚

  2. Hey Tanvi! Firstly, it’s really great to have you on-board πŸ™‚
    Nice post! I hate Shane too! He was such a little diva.I rather liked Selden (except for him name). Seymour was okay.
    It’s always good to analyse books because then you get more from them. There is so much that we can learn from books.
    Looking forward to Feb with its book πŸ™‚
    Cheers,
    Mia

Leave a Reply

