The One With F.R.I.E.N.D.S

                                       pic7

Hey..How you doin’?

I am sure you know what the post is about. I have been planning on writing a post on F.R.I.E.N.D.S for ages. I watched the entire series this year, I started in May and, unfortunately, finished it in August.

When the series first started in 1994 I did not watch it because, well, I did not watch TV too much and I did not know English. It was in school when I first heard about the series and it was only in 2002-03 that I watched a few episodes of the ninth season. This year I got the series from a friend of mine and watched all ten seasons. It is one of those series that you just cannot let go of, you know, like Harry Potter.

It’s been two months since I watched the last episode but there is always something or the other that reminds me of the series. Plus it helps that my sister is currently watching it and is still on season seven. I am constantly reminded of scenes, dialogues, jokes from the series and I have a group of friends who are just as crazy as I am and we are always talking about HP and FRIENDS.

I can imagine why people would have watched it for ten whole years! I watched the series in four months, but to watch it one episode at a time for ten years, you can see how loved the series must be. Okay so there must be changes in the season ratings but you know what I mean. I think the series was so well-received because it showed real people, real problems and real lives. You can find Chandler, Monica, Ross, Joey, Rachel and Phoebe around you all the time. I have so many things to say, I don’t even know where to start.

I’ll start be saying that Chandler is my most favourite character but it is also true that I cannot choose which of the guys I like best. I like Phoebe and Rachel more than Monica but I love Monica-Chandler. So you see it is not easy to choose! I’ll just have to say that I love all six characters because they bring so much to the show.

I saw The One Where It All Began again today and so much about the characters is shown in the very first episode. Phoebe, who is so weird and quirky, Rachel,who is discovering herself , Monica, who seems so sure of herself and yet has self-doubts, Ross, who is so geeky, Chandler, who is sarcastic and funny on the surface but so much more, and Joey, who is so adorable! The best thing about all of them is that they are so different, but are so comfortable and at ease with each other. There are no secrets amongst them and they are always there for one another. There is always this comfort when you know that there are people who know you so well that you don’t have to pretend around them at all-that’s the way they are with each other.

I want to write a bit about each of the characters too, so I am going to write another post about it because otherwise this post would become too long. I am going to end this post for now but I would like to say that I think it was a good thing that I did not watch this series before. I can relate to the characters much better today than I could have some years back. Even though it’s true that a lot has changed since the series ended, there are so many things that haven’t changed, like, friendship, relationships, jobs, struggles, happiness, and like Joey would say ‘having and sharing and loving and receiving’ :-).

Until the next post then.

Leave a Reply

