So many books, so little time…..

Image

‘Anyone who says they have only one life to live must not know how to read a book.’——-Anonymous.

Isn’t this quote the best? (By the way, the title of the post is also a quote by Frank Zappa) I think it expresses my feelings perfectly. For me, books are one of the best things in the world. Seriously, can you think of anything better that shows you the whole world in such a wonderful way, while you are comfortably sitting at home in your favourite armchair? I can’t.

Every book you read is different. Some books stay with you for your entire life but almost all the books you read have some kind of effect on your way of thinking, of perceiving the world. It’s amazing really, what a single book can do. I don’t really remember the first book I ever read,but I remember reading different volumes of ‘Stories for Children’. They all had nice, colourful illustrations and all the stories had morals…’Slow and steady wins the race’ , ‘Look before you leap’ , ‘A friend in need is a friend indeed’. There were also short stories from Panchatantra, The Jataka Tales, Akbar and Birbal. Some of life’s very first lessons were through books. Plus there were all the stories from mythology that my grandparents and my parents told me as a child. All these shaped the perception and understanding of my world. 

In my primary school years, the author I read the most was Enid Blyton. Her stories are loved by kids all over the world. It was a particular delight to go to the library and choose books to read as a child (thanks to my parents I had a library membership from a very young age). Enid Blyton’s Famous Five, Secret Seven, The Faraway Tree, Malory Towers, The Naughtiest Girl are my earliest memories of children’s books. Later it was Caroline Keene’s Nancy Drew and Frank.W.Dixon’s Hardy Boys. These are the books I read the most but there are many, many more books I read. Then there were comics like Tinkle, Archie, magazines like Champak. Books have given me a lot in life. Enjoyment, life-lessons, different ways of looking at the world and also many different worlds which I would never have been aware about. 

I have been to many cities around the world and I have been to different centuries and times. All by reading books. I have also been on a trip around the galaxy (The Hitch Hikers Guide to The Galaxy), to The Shire ( The Lord of The Rings) and to Hogwarts (Harry Potter, this is one place I wish really existed). I don’t know, maybe these places really do exist? Atleast in my world they do because they are some of my most favourite places. Places I can escape to when the ‘real’ world becomes a bit too much.

I could go on and on about books. There is so much to say about them. I already have many books that I own but haven’t got around to reading yet. That’s because I have bought many of them together but obviously it will be some time before I will have finished reading them all. Then there are new books I keep learning about in my class, some that the teacher recommends, some my classmates have read, some as references to our course. In all my notebooks, on various pages, are names of books and authors that I have yet to read. I keep noting them down as and when I hear of books I haven’t read yet. I have no idea if I can manage to read them all, but atleast I can try.

So many books and so little time!!!

Image

Leave a Reply

