Liebster Award!!!!!

Hello!! I have some good news!!! I have been nominated for the Liebster Award!!! It’s an award by bloggers for their fellow bloggers. Thank you Ravenclawsam for nominating me!! ( Too many exclamation marks i know but I am very excited!!!).Image

I am going to go in order here. So the first thing I have to do is post the rules for the nominees of the award. Here goes…

1.Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog. (Already done!)

2.You must answer the 10 questions given to you by the nominee before you.( Coming up).

3.You must nominate 10 of your favourite blogs with fewer than 200 followers and notify them of their nomination.

4.You must come up with 10 questions for your nominees to answer.

Let’s start answering some questions then!

1.Tell me your blogging story (how it started, why you did it, how different is it from what you thought it’d be, in a good way or bad way etc. Basically I’m giving you space to ramble on about your blog. In fact, throw in the link to your favourite post by yourself as a bonus).

For the last 5 years I was a student of Science. But in a surprise decision I decided to pursue a post graduation in English Literature. The idea of starting a blog was actually given to me by my Microbiology professor. And I have to say, I have definitely benefited from it. My professors encouraged me to take up whatever interested me and for that I am really very grateful to them, because that kind of support is always required for such a big decision. My professor told me  that in order to be a good English student I would have to write really well and a blog would help me in that direction. So I started Anything and Everything the very next day. I didn’t really write regularly. When I met my professor again in December he asked me about my blog and once more told me to continue writing, infact he told me that I should write everyday. So it was him, again, who gave me the encouragement and inspiration to write more regularly ( you know my one-post-per-week decision). Blogging about various things has really given me a very good outlet to my thoughts and feelings. I really think it is helping me in my course too because I am able to write much better now. Reading other people’s blogs is also a huge plus.

2.What is your idea of heaven? (All you atheists: don’t wriggle out of this one- tell me something!)

Heaven, according to me, is a place where one is very happy. So my idea of heaven is a place where I am with my family and my best friends. So I suppose my heaven is right here on Earth because being with my favourite people gives me the most happiness. Oh and there also have to be many books because reading makes me happy too.

3.What, according to you, is the future of books?

The future of books is quite secure, I think. There is no doubt that people read on digital book readers and mobile phones too but a good, old book beats everything. The feeling of holding a book in your hand, turning its pages, the smell of a new book…nothing’s going to beat that ever. Books are here forever.

4. If you could change one thing about your country/ society in general, what would it be?

Now this is a tough question. But, the first thing that comes to my mind is the illiteracy. If Illiteracy is eradicated completely, I think a lot of problems in our country can be solved. That is why programs like Teach India are a very good step for development.

5.Your one big regret.

Okay so I don’t think I have any big regrets but I think it would have helped if I had opted for an arts course right from the start instead of at the post graduation level. But it’s not really a regret because I have enjoyed studying science too and the last 5 years have been great. And I definitely don’t think that anything I have studied is going to go waste because I believe that anything you learn is just as important and useful, no matter what you do later.

6.What inspires you to write?

Everything that goes on around me, probably. That’s because when you see,hear, read about the things around you it leads to some thoughts and perceptions on your part. I like to write about what I have thought , so I write. 

7.Your favourite authors (I’m not limiting you in any way- list as many as you want)

This is a tough one, too. That’s because I haven’t read many specific-author books. I look at the book more than the author, if the book appeals to me I read it. So there are many authors I have read but not many books by the same authors. But I will write, obviously.

Enid Blyton ( Famous Five and Secret Seven…the basis of my reading habit)

J.K. Rowling (Harry Potter!!!!)

Lee Child

Meg Cabot ( the Princess Diaries)

Jeffery Archer

Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (Sherlock Holmes)

Julia Quinn

I can still think of loads of books that I have loved so I’ll just mention them too ( can’t resist not mentioning them)…

Shantaram ( Gregory David Roberts)

Life of Pi (Yann Martel)

Mrityunjay (Shivaji Sawant)

A Walk To Remember (Nicholas Sparks)

Surely You’re Joking Mr.Feynman (Richard Feynman) 

Alive (Paul Piers Read)

Ok, I should stop. I can go on and on and on. Next question.

8.Tell me 3 really funny jokes (Not a question- just making provisions in case the rest of your blog bores me- Haha! I am kidding!)

Really? My blog is not boring, do you really need 3 jokes?

1.Customer: Waiter, do you serve crabs?

Waiter: Please sit down sir, we serve everyone.

2.”Yes – yes, good point, Petunia! What were you doing under our window, boy?
“Listening to the news,” said Harry in a resigned voice.
His aunt and uncle exchanged looks of outrage.
“Listening to the news! Again?
“Well, it changes every day, you see,” said Harry.

3.He who laughs last thinks slowest.

9.. What would be the title of your autobiography?

That’s a good one. But I don’t know. I haven’t even done enough to write an autobiography yet. But you have definitely got me thinking .

10.What do you think is the Ultimate Question to The Life, Universe and Everything?

Good one, again. My question would be,’Is this real or has this been happening inside my head?’ I know the answer to this question is not 42 but if I had to ask, I would ask this.

It was so much fun answering these questions. Ravenclawsam if you have any more fun questions I can’t wait to answer them. So, moving forward, I have to nominate 10 blogs now. So here are my nominations:

1.The Quixotic Reader

2.Ravenclawsam

3.The Odd Land of Me

4.Malhar Mali

5.Makarand’s Musings

6.Oscarpotterhead

7.Caption-a Day

8.The Harry Potter Medicinal Re-Read

9.An Academic Life

10.Horcruxes, Heroes and Harry Potter

My questions are:

1.How did you start blogging?

2.The song that means the most to you.

3.Who is your most favourite person in the world?

4.Any 5 books that you think everyone should read.

5.If you could live somewhere other than you own country where would it be?

6.What does happiness mean to you?

7.Harry Potter or Twilight?

8.If you were not what you are now ( in terms of profession or education), what would you be?

9.Most memorable day in your life.

10.Your favourite sport.

So that’s it people. Thank you,again, Ravenclawsam for nominating me.

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award!!!!!

  1. Of course it is happening inside your head, but why on earth should that mean it’s not real?
    Nevertheless I liked that question! 😉
    Many of our answers are similar- like the illiteracy one and also, a lot of our authors.
    Second joke is the best, needless to say! Don’t you love sassy Harry? 😀
    I’ll answer your questions soon.
    Best Wishes!

Leave a Reply

