Aside

Resolutions Or Solutions

HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!!!

I know it’s been more than a month since I last wrote, but that is about to change. Call it my New Year’s Resolution if you like. I have decided…wait for it……to write one post per week!! (Provided you are as excited about reading my posts as I am about writing them….or the exclamation marks won’t make a point.)

In reality, resolutions and me don’t really get along so well but I am going to try anyway. Writing this blog is something I enjoy very much and I am determined to try this ‘one post per week’ thing. The problem I believe is that I am very lazy. There are sooo many thoughts and ideas zooming around in my head but actually sitting and writing about them takes time. So I am starting with a minimum of one post, hopefully I will write more as the year progresses. 

So, another year has gone by, have we learnt anything new? I think we learn something new everyday but we don’t really pay attention to it. It just gets lost in our thoughts eventually. I am sometimes amazed by how much people think, me included. I mean, obviously, we are supposed to think, we are thinking beings and all that. But shouldn’t there be a limit or something? Don’t you feel sometimes that the amount of time we spend thinking about our problems is more than what is needed to solve them? We spend so much time thinking that we don’t realize when life passes us by and then comes regret. I am in complete agreement with proverbs like ‘Think before you leap’, but that does not mean we keep thinking and never leap. 

It’s important to let things be, too. Some things are just meant to happen and I really do believe that. I am a very indecisive kind of a person, so what I am saying here applies to me too. In a way. See, this is actually a really good example of what I want to say. We know what our faults are and most of the times we also know what we can do to correct them. But do we correct them? Or do we just say ‘it’s not a big deal’? These ‘not a big deals’ end up becoming much bigger than anticipated. Those become our major problems. I read recently in one book ( Be Careful What You Wish For by Alexandra Potter)—‘things that we don’t say at the right time have a way of coming back to us’. that applies to a lot of things in life.

My whole point in this tirade being that we should be able to recognize our faults and work on them. Only acknowledging them will not help. We learn new things everyday, it is only a matter of recognizing them. Grab hold of all the opportunities, you know and live, not regret. 

How’s that for a new year’s post? It’s really as much for me as it is for you. It is, after all, a new year, a new beginning, and we need to do new things. We should probably not think of resolutions because they tend to be broken sooner or later. Maybe we should just do what we feel is right for us. 

Here’s hoping that we have all learned from our mistakes of last year and that 2014 will be an awesome year! Happy 2014 and I will (definitely) write again next week. I am an eternal optimist about improving myself,really!

2 thoughts on “Resolutions Or Solutions

Leave a Reply

